

### EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 148 Imphal, Tuesday, July 5, 2022 (Asadha 14, 1944)

# OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER: MANIPUR

## **NOTIFICATION**

Imphal, the 5th July 2022

No. COE-106/2/2022-ELEC-ED: The Notification No. 480/2022 dated 5th July 2022 of the Election Commission of India is republished hereunder for information of the general public and electors.

#### ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001.

<u>Dated: 5<sup>th</sup> July, 2022</u> <u>Ashadha 14, 1944 (Saka)</u>

#### **NOTIFICATION**

No. 480/2022:- Whereas, the term of office of Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, Vice-President of India, is upto 10<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2022, in terms of Article 67 of the Constitution; and

Whereas, an election is due to be held, in terms of clause (1) of Article 68 of the Constitution, to fill the vacancy to be caused by the expiration of the term of office of the incumbent Vice-President before the expiration of term of his office; and

Whereas, under sub-section (3) of Section 4 of the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952 (31 of 1952), the Election Commission of India is required to so appoint the dates for the election to fill the office of the Vice-President of India that the election will be completed at such time as will enable the Vice-President thereby elected to enter upon his office on the 11<sup>th</sup>day of August, 2022;

Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India hereby -

- (A) calls upon the Electoral College, referred to in Article 66 of the Constitution, to elect a person to fill the above vacancy in the Office of Vice-President of India before the expiration of the term of the incumbent Vice-President, in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution, the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952 (31 of 1952), and the Rules and Orders made thereunder; and
- (B) in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 4 of the said Act, appoints
  - a) the 19th July, 2022 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
  - b) the 20th July, 2022 (Wednesday), as the date for scrutiny of the nominations;
  - c) the 22<sup>nd</sup>July, 2022 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures; and
  - d) the 6<sup>th</sup>August, 2022 (Saturday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken.

[No. 480/2022] By Order,

NARENDRA N. BUTOLIA SR. PRINCIPAL SECRETARY

# भारत निर्वाचन आयोग निर्वाचन सदन, अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली 110001

दिनांक: 5 जुलाई. 2022 आषाढ 14. 1944 (शक)

## <u>अधिसूचना</u>

सं. 480/2022:- यत:, श्री एम. वेंकैया नायडु, भारत के उपराष्ट्रपति की पदाविध, संविधान के अनुच्छेद 67 की शर्तो पर,10 अगस्त, 2022 को समाप्त हो रही है; और

यतः पदधारित उपराष्ट्रपति की पदाविध समाप्त होने तथा उनका कार्यकाल समाप्त होने के पूर्व, इस प्रकार उत्पन्न हुई रिक्ति को भरने के प्रयोजन से, संविधान के अनुच्छेद 68 के खण्ड (1) की शर्ती पर निर्वाचन कराया जाना है; और

यतः राष्ट्रपतीय और उपराष्ट्रपतीय निर्वाचन अधिनियम, 1952 (1952 का 31) की धारा 4 की उपधारा (3) के अधीन भारत निर्वाचन आयोग द्वारा भारत के उपराष्ट्रपति के पद को भरने के लिए निर्वाचन हेतु तारीख इस प्रकार नियत की जानी अपेक्षित है कि निर्वाचन ऐसे समय तक पूर्ण हो जाए और निर्वाचित उपराष्ट्रपति अपना पद 11 अगस्त, 2022 को ग्रहण करने में समर्थ हो सकें;

अत: अब, भारत निर्वाचन आयोग एतद्द्वारा: -

अ) संविधान के अनुच्छेद 66 में निर्दिष्ट निर्वाचक मंडल से यह अपेक्षा करता है कि वे संविधान के प्रावधानों के अनुसार, राष्ट्रपतीय और उपराष्ट्रपतीय निर्वाचन अधिनियम, 1952 (1952 का 13) और तदधीन बनाए गए नियमों और उनके तहत जारी किए गए आदेशों के उपबन्धों के अनुसार, वर्तमान उपराष्ट्रपति की अविध खत्म होने से पूर्व भारत के उपराष्ट्रपति के पद को भरने के लिए एक व्यक्ति निर्वाचित कर दें; और

आ) उक्त अधिनियम् की धारा 4 की उपधारा (1) के अनुसरण में निम्नलिखित निर्धारित करता है:

(क) नामनिर्देशन की अन्तिम तारीख : 19 जुलाई, 2022 (मंगलवार)

(ख) नामनिर्देशन की संवीक्षा की तारीख : 20 जुलाई, 2022 (बुधवार)

(ग) अभ्यर्थिताएं वापस लेने की अन्तिम तारीख: 22 जुलाई, 2022(शुक्रवार)

(घ) वह तारीख जिसको, यदि आवश्यक हुआ, तो मतदान होगा: 6 अगस्त, 2022 (शनिवार)

> [सं. 480/2022] आदेश से,

नरेन्द्र ना. बुटोलिया वरिष्ठ प्रधान सचिव

By Order etc.,

**RAJESH AGRAWAL**Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur